meet the locals
Comment 1

Introducing Tajette O’Halloran

 

Tajette O’Halloran (self portrait).


 

Who are you?

My name is Tajette. I’m a photographer, a filmmaker, a left-handed Scorpio. I love cheese and airports, I love the wind and creative magazines. I run my own little photography business called SHOT OF SOUL.

How long have you lived in Melbourne?

Almost four years now.

Why Melbourne?

After six years of Sydney and still not feeling at home, I finally came to the freeing realisation I could pack up and leave … and I did. Within two weeks of entertaining the idea in my head I packed everything I owned and drove down the Hume. I fell in love with this city and never left.

Favourite cafe?

Penny Farthing in Northcote. They see me with the worst bed hair and sleepy eyes every morning and are still so lovely to me. They know my coffee without me having to say a word. It feels a bit like family.

Favourite restaurant?

I’m a vegetarian so I’m not the most free and easy when it comes to eating out. A few I frequent and love are Moroccan Soup Bar (North Fitzroy), Pizza Meine Liebe (Northcote), Kake di Hatti (East Brunswick), Vegie Bar (Fitzroy) and Malaymas (North Fitzroy).

Favourite nightspot?

There are way too many in this town. I have a lot of ridiculously talented musician friends so I’ll mostly go to live music venues such as Old Bar, Labour in Vain, Tote, Northcote Social Club, The Retreat … and there’s always Joe’s Shoe Store on High St, Northcote. It’s very close to where we live so my boyfriend and I often wander up there for impromptu dates. It’s cosy and dark and they always have good music playing –  and you can order delicious pizzas from next door at Pizza Meine Liebe.

Where do you take visitors when you’re showing them around the city?

Mainly to all the places I’ve already mentioned. I’ve taken quite a few friends and family up to Sassafras and Olinda in the Dandenong Ranges. It’s so quaint and beautiful up there; it’s hard to believe a place like that exists forty minutes out of the city.

Any final tips, raves, rants, thoughts?

Melbourne is jam-packed, filled to the brim and overflowing with creative, inventive and inspiring people and I love that. It also means there is too much to do. Always.

 

Photo: Tajette O’Halloran


 

Photo: Tajette O’Halloran


 

Keep up-to-date with Tajette’s work via her website.

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

