film, free, photos, see & do, sights & activities
Comments 4

my favourite room

V

Screen Worlds at ACMI. Photo: Marleena Forward

V

I’m going to make a bold statement. I think the Screen Worlds exhibition at the Australian Centre for the Moving Image (ACMI) is one of the best exhibitions I’ve ever been to. Ever. In the whole world.

Or maybe I should amend that to ‘most entertaining’ exhibitions ever. I’ve never studiously read through all the exhibits as I would in a normal museum because at Screen Worlds I’m always too excited to go try out the next activity. There’s a time-slice animation booth, where you can make a Matrix-style video and email it to yourself. (Here’s mine.) Or you can try the Shadow-Puppet-Style Projector Thingo. Or you can step into one of my favourite rooms in the world: The Dark Room With The Weird Light In It (you can tell I’ve done my research, can’t you?)

The point is, you may not learn a whole lot at Screen Worlds, but you will rediscover your inner child who just wants to push all the other kids out of the way for a shot on the swing.

Serious fun.

V

Screen Worlds

Address: Federation Square, Flinders St, Melbourne Vic 3000

Tel: 8663 2200

Opening hours: 10am-6pm daily

Flinders St & Swanston St, VIC 3000

V

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

